What Women Want celebrates 125 years since women’s suffrage in Aotearoa, New Zealand.

This project curates some of New Zealand’s top leaders and change-makers in conversations led by Alison Mau. These conversations address the key areas of concern for women: ending domestic and sexual violence, health and pay equity.

This project was recorded in front of a live studio audience in Auckland on Wednesday 12 September 2018. You can watch the individual segments, comedy skits and extended interviews here.

This project was made possible with the support of NZ On Air.


Our Guests

Hear directly from our selection of experts who are working to change the lives of everyday women in Aotearoa, New Zealand, 125 years after Women's Suffrage. 


What Women Want

Viewing Menu


Opening Overview
21 minutes 50 secs

Starts: 0:00

Prue Kapua - National President, Maori Women’s Welfare League
Fiona Gower – President, Rural Women New Zealand
Renee Graham – Chief Executive, Ministry For Women
Verity Johnson – YWCA Brand Ambassador 
Erin Polaczuk – National Secretary, Public Service Association

Jackie Van Beek & Madeleine Sami on getting the vote


Paora Crawford-Moyle - Social Worker and State Care Abuse Victims Activist
Dr Kim McGregor – Chief Victims Advisor to Government
Louise Nicholas – Victim Advocate
Laura Thompson –Bodysafe -  Rape Prevention Educator
Latayvia Tualesea-Tauti – University Student & Welfare Expert Advisory Group
Brittany & Johanna Cosgrove – The Nope Sisters

Camp Mother & Camp Leader on consent

Ending Sexual Violence
25 minutes 26 secs

Starts: 0:21:50


Demanding Pay Equity
20 minutes 14 secs

Starts: 0:47:16

Lauren Peate – Founder, Ally Skills NZ
Golriz Ghahraman – Green Party List MP
Lizzie Marvelly – Musician, Writer and Activist
Bev Cassidy-MacKenzie – Director, Diversity Consulting

Michele A’ Court on Pay Equity


Ending Domestic Violence
24 minutes 22 secs

Starts: 1:07:30

 Anjum Rahman – Hamilton Ethnic Women’s Centre
Deborah Mackenzie – Co-Founder, The Backbone Collective
Ruahine (Roni) Albert – Co-Founder, Te Whakaruruhau Māori Women’s Refuge
Catriona MacLennan –  Board Member, Rape Prevention Education & Member of  Auckland Coalition for the Safety of Women & Children
Gabrielle Quirke – Police Family Violence Co-Ordinator, Ruapehu Area

The Kens call to action to Kiwi Blokes


Healthcare Revolution
27 minutes 47 sec

Starts: 1:31:53

Dr Margaret Sparrow – Sexual Health Pioneer
Dr Julie Wharewera-Mika – Clinical Psychologist, The Flying Doctors
Dr Sasha Klyakovich – Well Revolution
Sergeant Rhona Stace – Senior Prosecutor, NZ Police Prosecution Service
Dr Huhana Hickey – Human Rights Review Tribunal & Member of the Welfare Expert Advisory Panel
Phyllis Tangitu – General Manager Maori Health, Lakes DHB, Rotorua
Isis Mackay – General Manager, Women’s Health Action

Topp Twins sing Untouchable Girls



Subscribe to our newsletter

Receive news and bonus footage from Diva Productions